Site Map| Site Search

Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases (U.S. patents)

Description:

Provides two different databases for searching. Search the full text of issued patents since 1976 and full-page images since 1790; or search for published applications since March 15, 2001.

Provides two different databases for searching. Search the full text of issued patents since 1976 and full-page images since 1790; or search for published applications since March 15, 2001.

IMPORTANT NOTICES from USPTO:
  • Patents issued from 1790 through 1975 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications. Attempts to search those patents by any other fields will result in an error message.
  • US Patent Classification data in the Full-Text Database (Current US Classification [CCL]) is frequently updated to reflect the most current PTO Master Classification File (MCF), and will not necessarily match the classification data which appears on the patent full-page images (i.e., the printed patent) or on the Patent Classification pages.
  • The Issued Patents Full-Text Database is a database of patent full-text as it was printed on the patent on the day of issue. Changes to patent documents contained in Certificates of Correction and Re-examinations Certificates are not included in the searchable full-text of the patent databases, but are available as additional full-page images at the end of each patent's linked full-page images.
  • Neither assignment changes nor address changes recorded at the USPTO are reflected in the patent full-text or the patent full-page images.
  • These databases have limited resources, both bandwidth and computer systems. Therefor, to assure availability to the general public, searches are limited in terms of both the length of the query and the amount of computer time available for any single search. In particular, if the fully-expanded parsed query, which can be viewed by looking at a resulting hit-list link using your browser's Right-click -Properties capability, exceeds 256 characters in length, the query may be rejected by the parser, may time out before completion, or may produce invalid results even though it appears to have worked correctly.


Access: Unrestricted.
Full Text: Yes
Coverage: 1790 to the present.
Provider: United States Patent and Trademark Office

 
 

 

Go to:   The University of Tulsa   |   TU Information Services   |   Mabee Legal Information Center

McFarlin Library
2933 East 6th St., Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
918-631-2873  |  FAX 918-631-3791  |  http://www.lib.utulsa.edu/