Site Map| Site Search

Trademark Electronic Search System (Tess) (U.S. trademarks)

Description:

"TESS contains more than 3 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks."

"The Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) supports the trademark application process by providing for searching the existing trademark application and registration information via an Internet browser. TESS provides access to the same text and image database of trademarks as currently provided to examining attorneys at the US Patent and Trademark Office via the X-Search system."

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FROM USPTO: "If you have any questions regarding adoption or use of a trademark, the USPTO strongly recommends that you consult with an attorney and/or access the Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure (TMEP) and other trademark documents and resources available on the USPTO Web site located at http://www.uspto.gov/main/trademarks.htm. The USPTO CANNOT recommend individual attorneys. The fact that a mark is not present in the TESS database does not necessarily mean that the mark is not currently being used as a trademark. The TESS database contains only those trademarks that are Federally registered or that are pending (applications undergoing examination at the USPTO). The TESS database does not contain any information on state, foreign, or common law trademarks. The TESS database does include the available information on inactive applications and registrations (i.e., abandoned applications or canceled or expired registrations). Information on applications and registrations that were inactive prior to 1984, however, are generally not available on TESS."

Access: Unrestricted.
Full Text: Yes
Updated: daily
Provider: United States Patent and Trademark Office

 
 

 

Go to:   The University of Tulsa   |   TU Information Services   |   Mabee Legal Information Center

McFarlin Library
2933 East 6th St., Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
918-631-2873  |  FAX 918-631-3791  |  http://www.lib.utulsa.edu/