|
Description:
|
"'Oklahoma Crossroads: Documents and Images' of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries consists of major digital collections such as online exhibits and collaborative projects. Collections include documents, photographs, newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters, maps, and an author database. The emphasis of these collections is on materials that vividly reflect Oklahoma's rich history, spanning more than 100 years and ranging in date from the late 1800s to present.
"The materials presented in Oklahoma Crossroads: Documents and Images were gathered from among the collections of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. Careful consideration has gone into the selection of each and every item, and criteria for selection were particularly focused on a) materials difficult to access due to their rarity, b) materials with broad interdisciplinary application, and c) materials that are at a risk from a preservation point of view.
"Oklahoma Crossroads utilizes CONTENTdm digital collection management software to organize and present its materials online. CONTENTdm allows for the virtual recreation of hierarchical materials online, making it possible to read through a book or a series of letters on screen as you would with the physical copy in hand. Another key feature of CONTENTdm's Docment Viewer is its ability to display page images and full-text transcripts side by side; this vastly simplifies the process of reading 19th-century penmanship while still allowing the reader to appreciate the style and format of the original writing. Full-text searching capabilities of materials with accompanying transcripts is provided. CONTENTdm has been optimized for use in Internet Explorer as well as other browsers. For more information on CONTENTdm and its applications in Oklahoma Crossroads, please see our help pages.
"Work on this project began in June 2004. Work on Oklahoma Crossroads can be divided into various states, including the selection of materials for digitizations, the selection of appropriate hardware and software, preprocessing of materials and testing for quality and consistency, establishment of metadata standards and procedures, final processing of materials, website development, and content development."
|