Site Map| Site Search

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music

Description:

"An incomparable guide to the thousands of characters, from humble artisan to lofty genius, who people the unfolding history of music, this volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. A long-awaited companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, and compiled with the same meticulous scholarship and delight in detail, this biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives ample attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with unusual care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century.

"Here then is the information you need about 5500 figures in the world of music - the major, the minor, the famous, the nearly forgotten, from Bach and Beethoven to Irving Berlin, Benny Goodman, and Bruce Springsteen - capsule summaries of the lives and careers behind the music enjoyed in every era."

Access: Available only to current students, faculty and staff of The University of Tulsa.
Full Text: Yes
Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Provider: Credo
Print Equivalent: The Harvard biographical dictionary of music / edited by Don Michael Randel; Call No.: Ref ML105.H38 1996 (shelved in the Reference Collection).

Trouble accessing this database from home?  Click here for help!

 

 

Go to:   The University of Tulsa   |   TU Information Services   |   Mabee Legal Information Center

McFarlin Library
2933 East 6th St., Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
918-631-2873  |  FAX 918-631-3791  |  http://www.lib.utulsa.edu/