Site Map| Site Search

Facts On File World News Digest

Description:

"Facts On File World News Digest @ FACTS.com presents the full text of Facts On File World News Digest since 1940, plus a live newsfeed from Reuters® and thousands of in-depth features, images, charts, and primary documents. Facts On File World News Digest @ FACTS.com connects all the relevant material in the database, using more than half a million internal hyperlinks. Thousands of additional hyperlinks connect researchers to relevant information from the three other databases @ FACTS.com: Issues & Controversies; Today's Science, and the World Almanac Reference Database, including the World Almanac Encyclopedia.

"Facts On File World News Digest is a permanent record of the essential facts of the news as reported in the major newspapers and news magazines of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world. The editors of Facts On File World News Digest research and distill key news information every week from more than 100 major newspapers, news magazines, other periodicals, and government and online sources from the U.S. and around the world into a permanent, researchable record. The news information is cross-checked for accuracy, and the summaries are written and edited for maximum clarity and swift retrieval of factual information.

"The editors seek to record all those events that might be of lasting significance, and to anticipate the needs of researchers in the future. The emphasis throughout is on the factual content rather than opinion or analysis. For most general news items the sources of information include most or all of the key publications cited under Sources. When details are unique or derive from a specialized source, the editors make a point of naming the source within the story, for example, "according to a story in the Miami Herald June 23."

"Reuters®, the international news service, provides hourly updates of international headline news for FACTS.com. The headlines of these summaries are hyperlinks to the Reuters® news stories. At the bottom of the summary are links to each day's news summary from the last two weeks, with links to the full stories. Special features available from Facts On File World News Digest @ FACTS.com include maps, photographs, editorial cartoons, historic documents, and overviews of key issues, newsmakers, and events since 1940."

Access: Available only to current students, faculty and staff of The University of Tulsa.
Full Text: Yes
Coverage: 1940 to the present
Updated: hourly
Provider: Facts on File

Trouble accessing this database from home?  Click here for help!

 
 

 

Go to:   The University of Tulsa   |   TU Information Services   |   Mabee Legal Information Center

McFarlin Library
2933 East 6th St., Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
918-631-2873  |  FAX 918-631-3791  |  http://www.lib.utulsa.edu/