Site Map| Site Search

Dictionary of Astronomy, Peter Collin Publishing

Description:

"A comprehensive dictionary, covering all aspects of astronomy, from telescopes to planets, stars to comets. The dictionary contains over 1,700 terms, clearly explains complex terms, and has been fully revised and updated to include the latest missions, discoveries and equipment.

"A wide range of sources has been used in the compilation of this Dictionary, including books, journals and magazines as well as press information from such bodies as the European Space Agency, NASA and PPARC in the UK. Among magazine sources, it is essential to acknowledge Sky and Telescope, based in Cambridge, Massachusetts, which is simply the one-stop source for up to date astronomy information and which was invaluable in the updating of my own text. The books listed here were all useful, but Jay M Pasachoff's Contemporary Astronomy and its companion volume, Astronomy: From the Earth to the Universe, were especially valuable and the data on the brightest and nearest stars comes from them.

"Astronomers use online resources extensively. Sites worth a look because of their extensive links to other astronomy content include: Sky and Telescope at www.skypub.com: a lengthy list of astronomy sites run by the Carnegie Institute of Washington at www.ciw.edu/Astro_hot.html: the (UK) Royal Astronomical Society, www.ras.org.uk: and for space missions, NASA, www.nasa.gov and the European Space Agency, www.esa.int."

Access: Available only to current students, faculty and staff of The University of Tulsa.
Full Text: Yes
Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Provider: Credo
Print Equivalent: The Facts on File dictionary of astronomy; Call No.: QB14.F3 2000 (shelved in the Reference Collection); Library has: 4th ed. (2000).

Trouble accessing this database from home?  Click here for help!

 

 

Go to:   The University of Tulsa   |   TU Information Services   |   Mabee Legal Information Center

McFarlin Library
2933 East 6th St., Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
918-631-2873  |  FAX 918-631-3791  |  http://www.lib.utulsa.edu/