Site Map| Site Search

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Description:

"Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications. Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.

"Feminae covers nearly 500 journals as well as many essay collections devoted in large part to topics dealing with women, sexuality, or gender. However, no year's worth of publications is completely indexed yet.

"There are over 11,000 records in the database currently, and more than five hundred records are added every four months. We index the most current year for which full journal volumes are available along with backlog years, and we are now working both on 2004 and on the remaining publications from 1990 through 2003.

"The time period covered is 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613, the beginning of the Romanov dynasty, because the sixteenth century is still medieval in social and political terms. The geographic area is Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East as well as areas in which Europeans travelled. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included. Publications in English, French, German, and Spanish have been indexed since the project began in 1996. Materials in Italian began to be included in the database in May 2001."

Access: Unrestricted.
Full Text: No
Coverage: 1990 to the present
Updated: ever four months
Provider: Haverford College

 

 

Go to:   The University of Tulsa   |   TU Information Services   |   Mabee Legal Information Center

McFarlin Library
2933 East 6th St., Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
918-631-2873  |  FAX 918-631-3791  |  http://www.lib.utulsa.edu/