Site Map| Site Search

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774 - Present

Description:

"For over a century, the Biographical Directory has provided valuable information about the more than 13,000 individuals who have served in the national legislature, including the Continental Congress, the Senate, and the House of Representatives. Those listed also include territorial delegates, resident commissioners, and vice presidents. First published in 1859 as the Dictionary of the United States Congress, the Biographical Directory was most recently published to coincide with the 1989 bicentennial of the U.S. Congress. The Senate Historical Office and the Legislative Resource Center of the House of Representatives, working under the direction of the Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk of the House, have updated the Biographical Directory through the current Congress for on-line publication. This searchable database builds upon past efforts and will be regularly revised to reflect recent scholarship on former members and up-to-date information about each current member of Congress.

"Appropriate to the vast new possibilities of internet publication, the on-line version goes well beyond the scope of the printed Biographical Directory to include images from the large photo collections of the Senate Historical Office and the Legislative Resource Center, links to other sources of congressional information, and continuously updated entries that provide biographical information in clear and easy-to-read formats.

"Many entries in the on-line version include information previously published in three separate volumes: Guide to Research Collections of Former United States Senators; Senators of the United States: A Historical Bibliography; and Guide to Research Collections of Former Members of the House of Representatives."

Access: Unrestricted.
Full Text: Yes
Provider: United States Congress
Print Equivalent: Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989, the Continental Congress, September 5, 1774, to October 21, 1788, and the Congress of the United States, from the First through the One Hundredth Congresses, March 4, 1789, to January 3, 1989, inclusive; Call No.: Doc Ref Serial Set 13849 (shelved in the Government Documents Reference Collections); Libray has: Bicentennial ed.

 

 

Go to:   The University of Tulsa   |   TU Information Services   |   Mabee Legal Information Center

McFarlin Library
2933 East 6th St., Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
918-631-2873  |  FAX 918-631-3791  |  http://www.lib.utulsa.edu/