Site Map| Site Search

ARTstor

Description:

ARTstor is a huge collection of over 300,000 images of works of art in a variety of different media.

ARTstor is a huge collection of over 300,000 images of works of art in a variety of different media (including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design) and from many time periods and cultures throughout human history. It is composed of several different collections. The largest, called the Image Gallery, is includes over 200,000 images derived from 35mm slides made from high quality reproductions found in the scholarly literature of art.

Smaller collections include: The Art History Survey Collection: based on images found in 13 standard art history survey texts it constitutes a "consensus collection" of more than 4,000 images of the world's greatest works of art; The Carnegie Arts of the United States Collections: documents the history of American art, architecture and culture; The Huntington Archive of Asian Art: traces the development of Asian art from 3000 B.C. to the present; The Illustrated Bartsch: contains "Old Master" European prints from the 15th to 19th centuries; The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive: high resolution images from the Buddhist cave shrines in Dunhuang, China' The MoMA Architecture and Design Collection: the digitized collections of the Department of Architecture and Design of The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York.

By 2006 ARTstore is expected to contain 500,000 images.

Access: Available only to current students, faculty and staff of The University of Tulsa.
Full Text: Yes
Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Provider: ARTstor

Trouble accessing this database from home?  Click here for help!

 

 

Go to:   The University of Tulsa   |   TU Information Services   |   Mabee Legal Information Center

McFarlin Library
2933 East 6th St., Tulsa, OK 74104-3123
918-631-2873  |  FAX 918-631-3791  |  http://www.lib.utulsa.edu/