Communication
Research
This is a selected guide to resources on Communication in the McFarlin Library
collection. It is not a comprehensive list. It is intended to serve as a
starting point for your research.
Approaches
to Research
For information on how to do research in general, check
Constructing
a Research Paper.
Reference
Materials
Reference sources, such as encyclopedias and dictionaries, are a good place to start when you need
an overview of a subject or when you want a quick summary of basic ideas. They
can also be used to familiarize yourself with the vocabulary of the
discipline. Encyclopedia articles are often followed by selected bibliographies
or lists of references to other works. The following are available in print in McFarlin
Library:
McFarlin Library also provides access to a variety of authoritative online
reference materials:
Dictionary of Communications Technology: Terms, Definitions and Abbreviations, Wiley
FT
TU
[More ...]
Focal Illustrated Dictionary of Telecommunications
FT
TU
[More ...]
Hargrave's Communications Dictionary, Wiley
FT
TU
[More ...]
Books
To
find books located in McFarlin Library, use
the library's online catalog. In addition to books, the Library
Catalog allows
you to search for periodicals, government documents, audiovisual material, and
Special Collections.
Call number classifications for Communication are:
|
Library of Congress
Communication
Psychiatry
|
P90
RC321-571
|
|
Dewey Decimal
Journalism
Communications
|
070-079
380-389
|
Library materials for Communication are listed on
the Library Catalog under these suggested subject headings:
Broad Terms:
Narrow terms:
Check the Library
of Congress Subject Headings for other more specific terms to search on
the Library Catalog.
Articles
Journal articles are important in your research. You should use periodical
indexes to identify current journal and newspaper articles published in the
professional and scholarly literature on topics relevant to your research
project. Indexes can be subject-specific for in-depth
research or can be more general in nature.
Some indexes are in electronic format and others are in print format.
All indexes provide a citation, many provide an abstract, and a few provide the
full text of the article. If the article is not available in full text,
you must use the Library Catalog to find out if McFarlin Library subscribes to the
journal that publishes the article you need.
To find out if McFarlin Library has a specific journal click on
the Library Catalog on the Libraries' Home Page and choose
Journal Title. Type the journal title in the Search for box.
If McFarlin subscribes to the journal, note the location of the
periodical.
To find articles in the area of
communication, search the following
electronic indexes:
- Academic Search Complete
FT
TU
E
"Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals."
[More ...]
- CIOS
TU
"[P]rovides access to a variety of services, including use of a Journals Index to search indexes for 30 key communication serials …"
[More ...]
- ComAbstracts
TU
"ComAbstracts is [a] database of article abstracts, books, bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers, scholars, and students interested in fields related to human communication studies (mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history, etc.)."
[More ...]
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
FT
TU
E
"CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline."
[More ...]
- Communication Abstracts
TU
E
Communication Abstracts is an index to major publications (including books, journal articles, and reports) related to communications studies.
[More ...]
- JSTOR
FT
TU
E
JSTOR provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
[More ...]
- Research Online Collection (Conference Board Reports)
FT
TU
"The Conference Board is the world's most widely-quoted private source of management and economic intelligence."
[More ...]
Internet
Resources
An increasing amount of information of
interest to communication researchers is available online. Below is a list of links to
several collections of communication-related links :
- Communication
Links from Yahoo
- A comprehensive collection of pointers to communication resources. Organized by subject.
- University of Iowa
- Links to communication
resources.
-
- WWW Virtual Library
-
The VL is the
oldest catalog of the web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of html
and the web itself. Unlike commercial catalogs, it is run by a loose
confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular
areas in which they are expert; even though it isn't the biggest index of
the web, the VL pages are widely recognized as being amongst the
highest-quality guides to particular sections of the web.
Associations
Below are some of the websites related to professional activity in the
communication field:
- American Communication
Association
- "The AMERICAN COMMUNICATION ASSOCIATION is the national
professional organization of scholars, students, and practitioners in the
field of communication studies. This site provides information about the
ACA, a collection of materials on communication law and First Amendment
issues, resources for teaching and research in communication studies, and
an extensive reference resource page for scholars and activists."
-
- Communications Research Group
- "The group conducts research into the use of computer and
communications technologies including distributed systems, wide and local
area networks, multi-media and virtual reality, to support human
communications and especially the work of physically distributed groups.
This research includes the developments of new theories, models and
systems, evaluation of these and dissemination of results to the wider
research and development community."
-
- Lambda Pi Eta
- "The goals of Lambda Pi Eta are to recognize, foster, and reward
outstanding scholastic achievement; stimulate interest in the field of
communication; promote and encourage professional development among
communication majors; provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas
about the field; establish and maintain close relationships and
understanding between faculty and students; and explore options for
further graduate studies."
-
- mediastudies.com
- "The purpose of mediastudies.com is to help advance research
and education in critical theory, new media studies, and critical
thinking. The site serves as a hub - providing links to educational
guidelines and other resources for media educators, students, researchers,
and the wider community. New sites will be featured
periodically."
-
- National Communication Association
- "NCA is a non-profit organization of approximately 7,100 educators,
practitioners, and students who work and reside in every state and more
than 20 foreign countries. The purpose of the Association is to
promote study, criticism, research, teaching, and application of the
artistic, humanistic, and scientific principles of communication.
NCA is the oldest and largest national organization to promote
communication scholarship and education."
-
- Southern States Communication Association
- "Our purpose is to promote the study, criticism, research,
teaching, and application of the artistic, humanistic, and scientific
principles of communication. SSCA, a not-for-profit organization, exists
for educational, scientific, and literary purposes only. The mission of
this network is to bring those in speech and communication-related
disciplines--predominantly located, but not limited to the Southern United
States--closer together."
Citing
Sources
For information on style manuals and guides found in McFarlin Library, check
out How to Cite Sources.
|